Quick Stop in Bantay

icon_gettingtherelandicon_Destinationsicon_More

While in Vigan, Bantay is a popular side-trip among travelers because of it’s proximity to the city.

Getting There
From Vigan, I just walked a couple of minutes to get to Bantay. (Click here for map.) As I reached the end of Quirino Boulevard, I easily spotted the red-bricked facade of the Saint Augustine Parish Church, or more popularly known as Bantay Church. The sun can be scorching hot, so you can opt to take a kalesa ride for P70 (roundtrip). Or take a tricycle.

Destinations

bantaychurchartgallery_pinchapel_pinbantaybelltower

Bantay Church. Although Bantay Church is not a crowd favorite as compared to the bell tower, it is definitely not any less beautiful. It has a very attractive and grand exterior and an interestingly plain interior.

Art Gallery. While inside the church, you can see a pathway that leads you to a connecting building. It showcases different memorabilia and artworks.

dsc_048620copy_zpsfp1nzmvz

Chapel by the Ruins. While exploring the church, I was led to this beautiful and tranquil chapel.

Bantay Bell Tower . The bell tower is just a stone’s throw away from the church. As I climbed my way on top of the bell tower, I was rewarded with a good panoramic view of the town. They say that it was strategically situated on top of a hill because it used to be the city’s watchtower against possible intruders.

RecyclingBefore entering the bell tower, a registration and an optional monetary donation would be waiting. The money is used to maintain the place, which I very much applaud. When I visited Bantay again after two years (from 2013 to 2015), I saw where my donation went. There were noticeably good enhancements in the vicinity such as the welcome signage, bench and green landscape. My favorite addition is the humungous plastic bottle bin.

Entrance Fee: Donation
Opening Hours: 6:00AM – 6:00PM
Open everyday

More
Recommended Posts:
vigan_thumbnaililocossur_thumbnail

Travel Date: December 24, 2013 (solo), December 6, 2015 (friend)
This entry was posted in Philippines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Stop in Bantay

  1. Pingback: Banaoang-Narvacan-Sta. Maria (Ilocos Sur Side Trips) | The Baratpacker

  2. Pingback: Vigan on Christmas Eve + Side Trips | The Baratpacker

Leave a comment